Mushroom coffee sits at an odd intersection: part coffee ritual, part wellness supplement, and sometimes not coffee at all. The caffeine content in one cup can range widely because the category includes instant sticks, ground coffee blends, and coffee alternatives built around mushrooms and other ingredients.
If you're tracking caffeine, the label “mushroom coffee” tells you almost nothing by itself. The real answer depends on the brand’s formulation, the format you choose, and how you measure the scoop.
What Is Mushroom Coffee and How Does It Compare to Regular Coffee?
Mushroom coffee is typically a blend of ground coffee or tea with extracts from medicinal mushrooms such as chaga, lion’s mane, or reishi—not a cup of whole mushrooms. The mushrooms are usually added as powders or extracts rather than as food, which changes both the texture and the nutrient profile.
For comparison, Harvard Health describes a standard cup of coffee as delivering roughly 95 mg of caffeine per 8 ounces, though bean type and brewing method shift that figure. Most mushroom coffee blends contain somewhat less caffeine than regular coffee, which is often why people try them in the first place.
Formats matter here. Instant packets, loose grounds, and single-serve pods can each deliver a different dose even within the same brand, so a “mushroom coffee” label doesn’t lock in a universal caffeine number.
Key Factors That Determine How Much Caffeine You Actually Get
A few practical choices shape the caffeine in your cup. The first is brand formulation—some products are actual ground coffee, while others are coffee alternatives built on tea, cocoa, or grain bases with mushrooms added. The second is product format. An instant stick is usually pre-portioned; a bag of loose grounds leaves the measurement to you. The third is scoop or packet size, which can turn a modest dose into something closer to a full brewed coffee.
Because these variables shift independently, one mushroom coffee product might deliver a modest dose while another lands closer to a full brewed coffee. There is no single mushroom coffee caffeine level, so the only reliable path is to read the label for the exact product in your hand.
What Published Data Says About Caffeine in Mushroom Coffee
Published caffeine data for mushroom coffee is thin. CaffeineInformer reports that a Four Sigmatic instant cup contains 50 mg of caffeine, while the brand’s brewed ground coffee contains 100 mg per serving. The source also describes mushroom coffee as having “slightly less caffeine than normal coffee,” which matches the idea that these blends often dial back the stimulant rather than eliminate it.
One caveat: Mud/Wtr is not a coffee blend in the same sense. CaffeineInformer frames it as a coffee alternative, with more than 500 mg of mushroom content per serving, but the source does not publish a caffeine figure for it. The product is marketed as low-caffeine, which is different from saying it is caffeine-free.
For most other brands, publicly available caffeine data simply isn’t there. Consumers end up relying on the package label, because the same category can hide very different formulations.
Caffeine per Serving by Brand
The table below gathers the source-reported caffeine figures that are actually available. Empty cells are honest gaps, not hidden data—several brands do not publish caffeine content in the sources reviewed for this article, so a package check remains the most reliable step.
| Brand | Format | Source‑Reported Caffeine per Serving | Serving Size | Caveat |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Four Sigmatic Mushroom Coffee (Instant Sticks) | Instant stick | 50 mg | — | Source-reported; label may vary |
| Four Sigmatic Mushroom Coffee (Brewed Grounds) | Ground coffee | 100 mg | — | Source-reported; scoop size affects dose |
| Mud/Wtr | Coffee alternative | Not disclosed | — | Marketed as low-caffeine; >500 mg mushroom content |
| Ryzē Mushroom Coffee | Grain-based blend | Not disclosed | — | Check product packaging |
| La Republica Organic Mushroom Coffee | Ground coffee | Not disclosed | — | Ground blends vary; check label |
| Pure Shrooms Mushroom Coffee | Instant/granular | Not disclosed | — | Contact brand or check Nutrition Facts |
| Neuroast Superfood Coffee | Coffee with supplements | Not disclosed | — | Check label for caffeine and supplement ingredients |
| Black Truffle 14 Mushrooms Coffee | Ground coffee | Not disclosed | — | 14-mushroom blend; verify on package |
Four Sigmatic Mushroom Coffee (Instant Sticks)
The instant stick format removes a lot of guesswork. Each serving comes in a pre-portioned packet, so the caffeine dose is fixed by the manufacturer rather than by how full you make a scoop. CaffeineInformer reports 50 mg of caffeine per serving for this product, which makes it one of the more predictable options for tracking intake.
If you want a lower-caffeine entry point, this format is easier to reason about than loose grounds. One packet becomes the serving size, and the label claim follows it.
Four Sigmatic Mushroom Coffee (Brewed Grounds)
This is the traditional ground-coffee version of the same brand, not an instant stick. CaffeineInformer lists it at 100 mg of caffeine per serving, roughly double the instant version’s reported amount.
Because it is brewed from loose grounds, your scoop size and water ratio matter more here. A heaped scoop or a stronger brew will move the actual caffeine higher than the printed serving suggests, even if the bag’s number stays the same.
Mud/Wtr
Mud/Wtr is easier to understand when you stop thinking of it as coffee. It is a coffee alternative, not a ground coffee blend. CaffeineInformer notes that each serving contains more than 500 mg of mushroom content, but the source does not list a caffeine figure for it.
The brand markets the drink as low-caffeine, which is not the same as caffeine-free. If caffeine content is your primary concern, check the product label or contact the company before assuming what the cup will do.
Ryzē Mushroom Coffee
Ryzē is a grain-based blend that includes coconut creamer and mushrooms, and it does not appear to publish a caffeine number in the sources reviewed here. That doesn’t mean the caffeine is zero—it means the information isn’t transparent enough to quote.
Look at the packaging for the serving size and any caffeine note. Without that, treating Ryzē like a known-quantity coffee replacement would be a guess.
La Republica Organic Mushroom Coffee
Specific caffeine content for La Republica’s organic mushroom coffee is not available in the sources provided. As a ground-coffee product with multiple mushroom extracts, its caffeine can fall anywhere in a typical brewed-coffee range depending on roast, grind, and scoop.
The label remains the only reliable source here. If you drink it daily, measure your usual scoop once and note how the cup feels against your normal coffee baseline.
Pure Shrooms Mushroom Coffee
Caffeine data for Pure Shrooms is not included in the source material. The product is described as a simple formula with mushroom extracts and no added fillers, but that description says nothing about stimulant strength.
A Nutrition Facts panel or a direct message to the brand is the straightforward way to pin this down. Guessing based on the word “mushroom” will not help.
Neuroast Superfood Coffee
Neuroast is marketed with nootropics and adaptogens alongside mushrooms, which means the ingredient picture is more complex than a plain coffee. Caffeine information is not provided in the available sources.
For this product, a label check matters twice: once for caffeine, and once for the supplement-style ingredients that could interact with medications or affect sensitive individuals.
Black Truffle 14 Mushrooms Coffee
Black Truffle 14 Mushrooms Coffee is a 14-mushroom blend with a chocolate note. The wide mushroom list says nothing about its caffeine level, which is not disclosed in the available product information.
Treat this like any ground coffee: the package should state the serving size, and from there you can estimate your actual intake based on how much you scoop. If caffeine specifics matter for your routine, verify before you pour the second cup.
How Scoop Size and Preparation Change Your Caffeine Dose
Instant stick packs make caffeine tracking simple because the serving is already portioned. Loose powders and ground mushroom coffees are different: the dose rises or falls with the scoop. A level tablespoon of grounds might deliver one amount, while a heaped scoop can push the caffeine closer to double, depending on the product’s density.
Brew strength adds another layer. Using more grounds for the same amount of water extracts more caffeine into the cup, even if the brand’s label quotes a fixed per-serving number. A weaker brew does the opposite.
The practical fix is not to memorize caffeine math. Find the recommended serving size on the product you actually use, then stick with it until you know how your body responds. Adjusting later becomes a deliberate choice rather than an accidental product of a rounded scoop.
Frequently Asked Questions About Mushroom Coffee and Caffeine
Does mushroom coffee have more or less caffeine than regular coffee?
Most mushroom coffee blends have slightly less caffeine than regular coffee. Four Sigmatic instant sticks contain 50 mg per serving and brewed grounds 100 mg, according to CaffeineInformer, and the source describes the category as having slightly less caffeine than normal coffee.
Can I drink mushroom coffee if I am sensitive to caffeine?
A lower-caffeine option may help, but sensitivity varies. Four Sigmatic’s instant stick delivers 50 mg per serving. If you have a medical condition, Cleveland Clinic recommends talking with a healthcare provider before trying mushroom coffee.
Is mushroom coffee actually good for you?
Consumer claims exist, but Harvard Health notes limited human research on mushroom coffee. Cleveland Clinic adds that whole mushrooms provide fiber and nutrients that a brewed mushroom coffee does not. Swapping coffee for mushroom coffee is not the same as eating mushrooms alongside your meal.